8th MC meeting


The 8th Ordinary Meeting of the Lake Tanganyika Authority (LTA) Management Committee was held at the Building of the Government in Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo, from 26 to 27 July 2016; and preceded the 7th Conference of Minister Meeting held on July 28, 2016 at the same venue. The meeting was attended by members of the Management Committee of the four LTA Contracting States, namely the Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the United Republic of Tanzania and the Republic of Zambia, attended the meeting; observers from the The Nature Conservancy (TNC) and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and LTA Secretariat staff.

The Management Committee Heads of delegations gave statements during the opening session. They all focused on the protection of Lake Tanganyika, which is a common heritage in need of concerted efforts of the four Lake Tanganyika riparian countries to safeguard its rich biodiversity. They affirmed their countries’ commitment to contribute to the objectives of the Convention to ensure the sustainability of the Lake Tanganyika Authority (LTA).

In his welcoming statement, the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Livestock in DR Congo, Prof. Emile Christophe MOTA, said that DRC was pleased to host the 8th Meeting of the Management Committee and 7th Meeting of the Conference of Ministers and welcomed LTA's efforts in the Lake management and for the well-being of the local population. He reiterated the commitment of the Government of the Democratic Republic Congo to support the LTA activities.